12 November, 2014 - 17:00 to 13 November, 2014 - 17:00

Centre for European Affairs, member of the Central European Strategy Council, Bruegel, the Ministry of Finance of SR and Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs of SR are organizing another round of TATRA SUMMIT conferences in Bratislava. The event titled ‘’The New EU Political Cycle: Addressing the Growth Agenda’’ will review the unfolding design of the 2014 EU political cycle, shaped by changes in the leadership posts of the EU institutions and their outlined policy goals for the next five years. The main aim of the conference is to address strategic growth agenda. Furthermore, the debate will look at the key priorities of the new political cycle in Europe. In reference to that, the panels will seek to address the following areas - the flexibility of the stability and growth pact; the state of EMU completion; the area of multispeed Europe in the context of the new EU architecture; buildup of the EU energy union and its impact on the industry competitiveness. TATRA SUMMIT 2014 will also provide a platform for Central Europe to present its recommendations and regional priorities, and, thus, make its voice heard in the unveiling political cycle of the EU.


Main Sessions Videogallery

You will find the full records of TATRA SUMMIT Main Sessions here:


Jörg Asmussen
Permanent State Secretary, Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin
George F. Babcoke
President, U.S. Steel, Košice
Jozef Bátora
Director, Institute of European Studies and International Relations, Comenius University, Bratislava
Jan Krzysztof Bielecki
Former Prime Minister of Poland; Economic Advisor to Prime Minister Donald Tusk, Warsaw
Sandrine Dixson-Declève
EU Director, Prince of Wales's EU Corporate Leaders Group, Brussels
Christian Egenhofer
Head of the Energy and Climate Change Research Programme, CEPS, Brussels
Robert Fico
Prime Minister of the Slovak Republic
Thomas Jan Hejcman
Member of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer of Východoslovenská energetika, Košice
Peter Javorčík
Štátny tajomník Ministerstva zahraničných vecí a európskych záležitosti SR, Bratislava
Jyrki Katainen
Vice President for Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness, European Commission, Brussels
Peter Kažimír
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of the Slovak Republic
Amb. Ivan Korčok
Permanent Representative of the Slovak Republic to the European Union, Brussels
Karel Lannoo
CEO, Center for European Policy Studies, Brussels
Enrico Letta
Former Prime Minister of Italy, Member of Chamber of Deputies, Italian Parliament, Rome
Ivan Lesay
Senior Advisor to Minister of Finance of the Slovak Republic
Carsten Pillath
Director General for Economic Affairs and Competitiveness directorate, Council of the European Union, Brussels
Jean-Claude Piris
Former Legal Counsel, European Council
Martin Šanta
Head of Communication Department, Ministry of Finance of the Slovak Republic
Maroš Šefčovič
Vice-President of the European Commission for Energy Union, Brussels
Jozef Síkela
Chairman of the Board of Directors and CEO, Slovenská sporiteľňa
Peter Spiegel
Chief of Brussels Bureau, Financial Times
Rolf Strauch
Member of the Management Board, European Stability Mechanism; Director, Research and Institutional Relations of the European Financial Stability Facility
Mary-Veronica Tovšak-Pleterski
Director for European and International Carbon Markets, DG for Climate Action, European Commission, Brussels
Róbert Vass
CEO and Executive Vice-President, Central European Strategy Council and Founding Member of the Centre for European Affairs
Günther Verheugen
Professor, European University Viadrina, Frankfurt (Oder), Former Vice-President of European Commission, Brussels
Harald Waiglein
Director General for Economic Policy and Financial Markets, Federal Ministry of Finance of Austria
Guntram Wolff
Director of Bruegel, Brussels
Georges Zavvos
Legal Adviser in the Legal Service of the European Commission, Brussels